New Poem : I Want To Teach You Of Honesty

I Want To Teach You Of Honesty

I bind you to my back with a heavy linen shawl.

You face away from me because I want you to know

the beauty of a landscape man has been unable

to tame, to restrict, to shape to fit his own needs.

 

I want you to know how your breath looks

when it meets with the cold air.

 

I take you to the deer stalker’s hideout, where I know

a wolf pack gathers at this time of year.

 

And here we wait. The temperature drops.

I feed you from my breast. We listen to the snow

make the tree boughs bend and buckle.

 

I whisper to be with nature is the most

honest encounter you will ever have.

 

I have bought you here to show you truth.

I have bought you here so you can stare

into the eyes of a wild animal and know

what truthfulness looks like.

 

Your eyes are open so wide I see white

I didn’t know was there.

 

The wolves gather as night falls quickly.

They have eaten. Their bellies stretched and low,

their muzzles black with blood.

 

In the distance, gun shots ring out.

I bundle you up tighter, cover your ears,

ashamed of my kind.

 

You look at me with an animal innocence

that I know will be gone too soon.

 

My latest poetry collection In The Hours Of Darkness is available to buy here.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “New Poem : I Want To Teach You Of Honesty

  1. Hi Katie…. I have tried to send a message re your previous post …but it seems to have disappeared…the post that is… I only say this because the fact you have posted another poem is relevant to what I tried to say… I am just wondering if it is a problem at my end or have you deleted it yourself… If so, accept my apologies, you have obviously reviewed things…

    Like

Leave a Reply

