By The Time I Turn 30…

prewriting

Okay folks. This is actually a pretty important post, one I’ve been thinking about for some weeks now, but my pride has always seen me back away from putting it out there for you to read. Today, however, I’m swallowing my pride, every last bit of it. Today I’m putting myself out before you, my palms upwards. Today I’m asking for your help.

In 5 months time I will turn 30 and I’m quite fucking scared if I’m being honest. But one of the things that’s helping me not to freak out is my main goal in life…to be a full-time freelance writer, poet and blogger, working on personal and professional creative projects that I feel passionately about.

To reach this goal, I need to build up a solid list of long-term clients in Scandinavia (and elsewhere), sell much more of my creative work (including my photography), and shape my blog The Girl With Cold Hands into the place to go when you want to learn about life in Sweden.

To achieve this goal, I have needed to back away from a number of projects, including Vargamor, a blog which I co-founded a few years ago, and my book Hyperborean Shadows, which will now run as a series of interviews instead of being published in printed format. (If you are involved with Hyperborean Shadows, I will be in touch shortly regarding my decision.)

I made these difficult but essential choices to focus my attention on other endeavours which will hopefully be A: more profitable and B: widen my network, and expose me to the kinds of people and businesses I want to be working with. One of these projects includes a series of short e-books about Sweden, the first of which will be released in June and will focus on the Swedish home.

Being a full-time freelance writer and blogger can be an unpredictable career choice, but it is all I’ve ever wanted. (I was four years old when I made the decision that I wanted to be a writer.) The unpredictability has not once made me consider doing anything different. Despite teachers telling me to be ‘more realistic’ and laughing in my face. Despite previous partners saying ‘yeah, but what if it never happens?’ I’m more than willing to take on every single challenge – not matter how fucking enormous – that comes along with doing this for the rest of my life. I’ve already approached and conquered hundreds of challenges when it has come down to my work, so I know I can take on anything.

I’ve worked so bloody hard to get to where I am today with my writing career. I’ve battled with ill mental health for over half of my life, and still managed, during those years, to put pen to paper and transfer parts of my soul into word form.

With your help, I can hopefully leave the ‘unpredictability’ behind (for the most part anyway…) and reach the secure position that would enable me to lead the balanced, creative, financially stable life that I’ve always worked towards.

If you are feeling like you would maybe like to help me reach my goal by the time I hit the big 3-0 in September, there are many things that you can do:

  • Purchase my poetry book Dying Is Forbidden In Longyearbyen
  • Purchase my poetry book The Long Stillness
  • Purchase my photography here and here
  • Visit my blog The Girl With Cold Hands and spread the word to anyone you might think would be interested in what I post there
  • Check out my website
  • Recommend me and my writing to Swedish or other Scandinavia based businesses i.e. travel companies
  • Inform me of online/print publications or blogs in Sweden and the rest of Scandinavia
  • Feature my words and/or photography on your blog, website, Facebook page…
  • If you like what I do, tell your friends about me
  • Regram my Instagram posts
  • Check out my poetry on Soundcloud
  • Email me at katiemariemetcalfe@hotmail.co.uk if you spot any long-term freelance writing jobs which you think would fit my style
  • Pass on any experience that you have had with crowd funding so that I can develop my knowledge before launching into it

Anything that you can do to help me reach my goal would be appreciated beyond words. Even if it is just reading this post…I value each and every gesture.

If you would like to get in touch regarding anything that you’ve read here, or just to say hello, I can be contacted at katiemariemetcalfe@hotmail.co.uk

I want to leave this post by saying thank you for reading, and I hope that if you have a goal you don’t feel afraid to ask for help to achieve it.

 

 

2 thoughts on “By The Time I Turn 30…

  1. Nice work – it’s tough to put yourself out there to the world and cross your fingers that something comes back. But that vulnerability is incredibly important, and I’m so glad that you’re open to the community.

    I just started full time freelance writing and blogging today. It’s scary and exciting all at the same time. Ultimately, I know it’s where I’m supposed to be. I’ve saved up and am going to cross my fingers for a few months, but champagne cheers to seeing what the world has to offer.

    I wish you the best of luck. 🙂

    XO, Jessica
    http://www.semisweettooth.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

