The Girl With Cold Hands Returns

Next week I will be re-launching my Scandinavian blog The Girl With Cold Hands, which has been on ice for the past six months. I’ve been doing a lot of preparation for this special occasion, most of which has involved me sitting with my chin in my hands and my elbows resting on my knees, while thinking – hard – about  what it is that I want to achieve with this project. I’ve also stood down from my blogging role at Vargamor – a blog which I co-founded in 2014 – so that I could dedicate more time to this endeavour.

I was going to provide a space with details on relocation, news about what’s happening in Sweden, links to people doing great things in Swedish culture, so on and so forth…but then I realised that actually what I really want to do is focus in on my day-to-day life. I want to relish and celebrate all the tiny (and big) things that make living in Sweden so special, from baking cinnamon buns to lighting candles on cold winter nights to taking long walks in the forests. I also want to find the best of Sweden and bring it back to my blog for my readers to enjoy. I was thinking about making practical information about living in Sweden available, perhaps through easy to read and beautifully presented PDF downloads. But I want the focus of the blog to be on life through the eyes of a creative, living her dream in Scandinavia. As a blogger, it can be easy to become complacent. To publish content just to have it out there. I don’t want to be that blogger. I want each post to have meaning behind it. I want each post to have a reason to exist in the blogosphere.

I want The Girl With Cold Hands to be a place where I can celebrate my new life in Sweden with gorgeous, bewitching imagery and enthralling, beautiful sentences. I want each blog post to be something you would like to package up and put in your pocket for when you need to be uplifted. I want my readers to look forward to my latest offering, falling, like a highly anticipated snowflake, into their email inbox or WordPress feed. Finally, I want The Girl With Cold Hands to challenge me to become a better writer and photographer, so that the trail I leave behind me is one others will be inspired to follow.

 

9 thoughts on “The Girl With Cold Hands Returns

  1. I look forward to this as I feel a certain affinity for Sweden. Listen to a lot of Swedish music, read Swedish authors (albeit translated, but I’m working on that!), went to Stockholm in September and now have a wandering eye on Malmö 🙂
    You have moved to Sweden?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

