It’s Okay To Take Time

I’ve spent six and a half hours on research and note making today in preparation for my poetry show In The Northern Darkness. Most of those six hours were dedicated to narwhals and Sedna, the Mother of the Sea, according to Inuit lore.

I relished every second, and my fingers are deeply and satisfyingly stained with ink from my favourite Papermate 1.0m black pen. (As are the pages of Barry Lopez’s book Arctic Dreams).

Interesting Fact: We know more about the rings of Saturn than we do about narwhals.

I’ve always been in love with the research process of every project I’ve established, and I consider research to be one of my key skills…

…but I’ve found that today, even though I was enjoying the research process, I’ve needed to repeat to myself that it’s okay to take time. It’s ridiculous that I’m having to do this when I’ve set this week aside especially for the research and writing of this project!

I know it’s just me putting pressure on myself…but life, I feel, for all of us seems to have sped up exponentially. There’s a pressure with practically all that we do to get it done NOW NOW NOW!

Research has always been, and always will be, a crucial part of my writing process, and it will always take time. There will be no more guilt trips about this. I’m going to continue my thorough readings. I’m going to continue absorbing all of this new knowledge, and transforming it into new and original material at my own. steady. pace.

To round things off, I’d like to share this excellent quote:

“Do research. Feed your talent. Research not only wins the war on cliche, it’s the key to victory over fear and it’s cousin, depression.”– Robert McKee

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

