In The Northern Darkness : From The Beginning

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’m currently putting together my very first solo poetry show, and I thought it would be a nice idea to share how the project came to be, and what inspired me to take the leap and venture further than I’ve ever gone before with performance poetry.

The show I’m putting together is called In The Northern Darkness, and with it I will present poetry that summons the shadows of the cold Northlands. The performance will include re-worked material that has previously been published, along with at least 12 new pieces that will not be fully revealed until the night of the first performance. I will be performing the poems along with music by a good friend of mine and the mind behind the eclectic musical outfit Project Lono.

The idea for In The Northern Darkness came to me while I was in Bergen in November. I was sat on the floor, a few feet away from a small stage where Norwegian musician Einar Selvik was giving a solo performance. Before each song, Einar would provide a beautifully illustrative background story into what inspired him to create the piece of music. His introductions reminded me very much of when I perform my poetry, and provide an insight into the context of what I’m about to reveal. Einar’s passion was utterly infectious and mid-way through his performance an idea started to stir. I knew what I had to do – I had to take my northerly poetry and give it space to breathe, space to scream, space to be make itself know to a wider world. So that’s what’s happening.

I have included a video I took of one of the songs Einar performed, and highly recommend you give it a watch. If you would like to follow the progress of my journey with this project, you can find In The Northern Darkness Facebook page here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

