New Poem – I Am Mother

I Am Mother

Since you came into the world
during summer’s early days,
onto an unsullied wolf skin,

pale, howling to the sound
of the goatskin drum,

I have become so much more
than my heart led me to believe
I could be.

I have become so much more
than I was before you took root in my belly.

Before you started to grow
like a waxing moon.

Now, I am snow watcher,
ice breaker, bread gatherer,
milk giver, wood walker,
fire lighter, brook crosser,
heather twister, lavender sniffer.

I am moorland wanderer,
watcher of tides.

I am creator of stories,
collector of eggs.

I am mother,
until the last candle burns out,

and it is you who is wide hipped,
preparing a wolf skin, singing
to the moon waxing in your belly.

Leave a Reply

