The Things I Have Seen In The North

312560_10150298142303088_3269967_n-2I miss Iceland and all of its eccentricities…like sheep grazing mere feet from the sea. This photograph was taken on an evening stroll, after spending the day building steps so tourists could ascend a crater called Eldborg in West Iceland. The sheep in Iceland are hardy things, who don’t think twice about hurtling through choppy rivers to escape people.

317265_10150298215348088_8040471_n-2The Sun Voyager is a sculpture which sits overlooking the sea in central Reykjavik. Designed by the late Jón Gunnar Árnason, it’s an ode to the sun and symbolizes light and hope. This shot was taken mid-July on a warm evening. There was at least thirty people milling around, taking in the scene, so I was scooting this way and that, biting my tongue and trying to capture the ship without strangers faces and limbs in the way. I managed it eventually.

Iceland50My heart aches whenever I look at this photograph of Dettifoss. I want to be able to close my eyes and transport myself right back to the spot where I stood and captured this image. Dettifoss is located in Vatnajökull National Park in Northeast Iceland, and is reported to be the most powerful waterfall in Europe. You may well recognise it from the 2012 movie epic Prometheus where it made an appearance in the opening sequence.

Iceland25I was ridiculously excited about going on a whale watching tour while in Iceland, but half an hour after we left the shore of beautiful Húsavík – a town off the north coast of Iceland – I started to feel sick to my stomach. Not because of the way the boat was thrashing through the waves, but because what we were doing felt cruel. If anyone saw sight of a whale, they had to yell and off we hurtled. I ended up taking a few photographs (they never fully surfaced) but quickly put my camera away as I battled with my feelings about hounding these kings of the deep.

Leave a Reply

