365 Reasons Why Life Is Better Without Anorexia: 31/Bagels

Bagel.jpgBagels are my power food, and this year I’m making up for all of the lost-bagel-eating-time. My current favourite choice is the 12 grain (toasted) with cream cheese (lots) from the ever reliable bagel chain Tim Hortons. The dense, delicious, grain studded bread tastes like something that would have been baked a few thousand years ago, in a stone oven somewhere in Scandinavia. Each bite is like saying hello to good health and happiness. And it’s affordable. Just over a dollar (CAN) for a bagel and 80 cents for cream cheese topping.

I can walk confidently into Tim Hortons, and feel comfortable because I know that I’ll be able to afford whatever I want from the menu. I’m unable to walk into Starbucks with the same self-assurance. Ever. I generally slope in – avoiding eye contact with everyone – with the hope that they’ve lowered the price of their chai latte. When I see that I still need to sell an organ to be able to buy a small chai, I scuttle back out.

Anyway, I got off the subject a bit there. Bagels are good. Eat them.

3 thoughts on “365 Reasons Why Life Is Better Without Anorexia: 31/Bagels

Leave a Reply

